Past Exhibitions

Kickers, Warriors and Legends

09/13/2006 – 12/17/2006

They were pioneers of German Soccer. Jewish soccer players, trainers, journalists, and officials made soccer popular in Germany. They were cheered on, honoured, and respected. They were role models in the sense of the sport’s idea of fair play. Their revolutionary ideas and methods set new standards, which at that time were denounced by those more narrow-minded and nationalistic.

Their successful careers suddenly ended in 1933. Up until November 10, 1938, Jews were only allowed to play on Jewish sports teams. Afterwards Jews were forbidden to take part in any athletic activities, and the athletes shared the fates of all other European Jews. Since the end of the Second World War, Jews have not played a comparable role in German soccer. Their merit was displaced and forgotten. The Centrum Judaicum wants with the exhibition ‘Kickers, Warriors, and Legends’ to bring this chapter of German soccer history back into the common memory.

The exhibition is supported in the context of the Program for Action: ‘Youth for Tolerance and Democracy – against right-wing extremism, xenophobia, and anti-Semitism’ of the Ministry for Families, Seniors, Women, and Youth. The exhibition was produced and serviced by the company Entimon.

Comments are closed.

Vergangene Ausstellungen

Kicker, Kämpfer und Legenden

13/09/2006 – 17/12/2006

Sie waren Pioniere des deutschen Fußballs. Jüdische Fußballer, Trainer, Journalisten und Funktionäre haben den Fußball in Deutschland populär gemacht. Sie wurden umjubelt, verehrt und respektiert, galten als Vorbilder im Sinne des sportlichen Gedankens des Fairplay. Ihre revolutionären Visionen und Methoden setzten Maßstäbe, die damals von engstirniger und nationalistischer Seite angeprangert wurden.

1933 waren ihre erfolgreichen Karrieren schlagartig beendet. Bis zum 10. November 1938 durften Juden nur noch in jüdischen Vereinen spielen. Danach wurden alle Sportaktivitäten für sie verboten, und sie teilten das Schicksal aller europäischen Juden. Nach dem 2. Weltkrieg sollten Juden nie wieder eine vergleichbare Rolle im deutschen Fußball spielen. Ihre Verdienste wurden verdrängt und gerieten in Vergessenheit. Das Centrum Judaicum will mit seiner Ausstellung „Kicker, Kämpfer und Legenden“ dieses Kapitel deutscher Fußballgeschichte wieder in Erinnerung rufen.

Die Ausstellung wird gefördert im Rahmen des Aktionsprogramms „Jugend für Toleranz und Demokratie – gegen Rechtsextremismus, Fremdenfeindlichkeit und Antisemitismus“ des Bundesministeriums für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend. Bereitgestellt und betreut durch deren Service-Gesellschaft entimon.

Comments are closed.